Phoenix Suns: 7-Seconds-or-Less team vs. Barkley-Era team; who wins?

Phoenix Suns (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)
Phoenix Suns (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images) /
2 of 8
Phoenix Suns, Danny Ainge (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)
Phoenix Suns, Danny Ainge (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images) /

Which Phoenix Suns era team was the best: The Bench

The 2004-2005 Suns basically had a six-player rotation in the playoffs with Jim Jackson who was pushed into starting when the Suns had a serious injury. During the season, Casey Jacobson, Leandro Barbosa, and Steven Hunter rounded out the players that played over 12 minutes a game. Everyone else was under 10 minutes.

Even when the playoffs rolled around, the bench got even less deep with Steven Hunter taking over for the starting Jackson, making the Hunter the only non-starter to average more than 10 minutes in a playoff game.

To be fair, the Seven-Seconds-or-Less Suns had three players (Joe Johnson, Quinten Richardson, and Jim Jackson) that could rotate between the shooting guard and small forward positions so they would be able to get short rests before returning. They had four starters within one minute that averaged 40 minutes or more in the playoffs.

The Ring of Honor 1992-1993 Suns actually had a bench, as they had 12 players that clocked in at over 10 minutes a game. With names like  Danny Ainge, Tom Chambers, Cedrick Ceballos, Oliver Miller, Negele Knight, Frank Johnson, and Jerrod Mustaf it leaves no doubt as to whom the best bench was between these two teams.

VERDICT: 1992-1993 Phoenix Suns